Newsflash: Officials are Biased

Cheer up buddy.

Well, it looks like the NBA isn’t the only league with dirty refs. The NHL has quite the issue on its hands now that Vancouver Canuck forward Alex Burrows came out last night, and accused veteran referee  Stephane Auger of carrying out a personal vendetta against him on the ice.

Burrows accused Auger of coming to him during the pregame skate and threatening him with revenge over a hit in a previous game.

According to Jason Botchford of the Vancouver Province on Monday night, Burrows said that Auger claimed the Canuck “made him look bad in Nashville on the Smithson hit” by feigning injury, and that Auger was going to “get him back” in the game against the Preds.

Burrows would end up leading all skaters in penalty minutes in the game with 16, including a dive and a 10-minute misconduct in the third period. He candidly spoke about Auger’s pregame threat and the ensuing penalties during a postgame interview that’s going to cause many a headache in NHL HQ on Tuesday — and could cost Auger his reputation, if not his job. (puckdaddy on yahoo.)

“He got me on a diving call that I didn’t think was diving and an interference call,” Burrows said. “I have no idea how he could call that and it changed the game

“Because of a guy’s ego, it just blows everything out of proportion and the refs are making bad calls and we’re paying for it.”

“He comes into the game and he’s going to make a call to give Nashville the advantage and I don’t think that’s fair for my teammates and for the fans.

Off the ice Auger is a British television star.

“After my second penalty I skated by him and he said ‘If you say a word I am going to kick you out.’

“So I didn’t say a word because I still thought we could come back and win the game. But with 3 seconds left and the faceoff outside the zone I thought I could tell him what I thought about him.

“It’s stupid, he takes it personal against guys.

“I think he should sit out the rest of the year for making calls like that are making us look bad.”

Now let me preface this by saying, I have always despised Stephane Auger. I could not be happier to see this slimy pompous ass lose his job. For years I have watched him single-handedly destroy dozens of good, solid hockey games with his phantom calls and outrageous judgement. I always just assumed he was completely inept at his job like many others in the NHL.

"Well at least we have a moment alone in front of 20,000 people and on national television."

As a fan, especially of the Flyers it’s really easy to buy into personal vendetta’s against your team and players. How great is it to be proven right with this idiot? He wasn’t even smart enough to have this conversation with Burrows behind closed doors, cameras caught the discussion in question.

This is not the first time this genius has been involved in controversy. Auger accused Phoenix Coyote and former Canadian national team captain, Shane Doan of using an anti-french slur during a game. A charge that Doan vehemently denied. The accusation went all the way to Canadian Parliament.

Opposition party leaders slammed the choice of Doan as captain Monday and referred to an alleged incident at the end of a National Hockey League game between Doan’s Phoenix Coyotes and the hometown Montreal Canadiens on Dec. 13, 2005. It was claimed by a French-Canadian linesman that Doan directed an anti-French slur at referee Stephane Auger, for which Doan received a gross misconduct. The NHL investigated and found no substance to the charges but the issue simply won’t die.

“I don’t have a single thing to hide about any of this,” Doan said. “The NHL investigated it. When they investigated it, there was nothing there. Nothing at all. I did not say a single thing. It wasn’t like I said almost something like that. I was trying to calm down our goalie (Curtis Joseph). I was not talking to the officials.”

Auger was also a part of one of the most outrageous blown calls in recent memory in a Red Wing/Stars game in November.

Auger also had a very eventful night in Philadelphia just over a month ago, in which he awarded the Caps a 9 minute power play and handed Dan Carcillo 29 unanswered penalty minutes for essentially winning a fight.

Karma however did come back to get Auger in the third period though with an errant Scott Hartnell slap shot.

I know it won’t get much pub here in the states but trust me…this is a HUGE deal. I wouldn’t be surprised if this clown gets fired. Imagine how big of a story it would be finding out Ed “Hercules” Hoculi went up to McNabb before a game and told him he was out to get him.

2 Comments

Filed under Flyers, Other

2 responses to “Newsflash: Officials are Biased

  1. Agreed. I would love to see this guy go down for this crap. My issue isn’t even that he did it, it’s hat he actually told Burrows it was coming. He should lose his job based on simple stupidity.

  2. Oh, and meet the newest Phillies fan! I go where the Doc goes.

Leave a Reply

